As a Los Angeles hit-and-run lawyer, I’ve discussed in the past what you can do if you’re involved in a hit-and-run.
And while we’re still a few years away from California’s upcoming temporary license plate law, there’s a very important step motorists should take if they’re the victim of a hit-and-run.
Report the hit-and-run to the police!!!
In fact, this requirement is so important, the law actually requires a hit-and-run victim to report the incident to authorities WITHIN 24 HOURS of the crash. (Insurance Code 11580.2(b))
Insurance companies in California are required to offer uninsured motorist coverage to their policyholders. This unique form of coverage applies to hit-and-run crashes where contact is made between both vehicles.
A prerequisite to filing an uninsured motorist claim is filing a police report within 24 hours of the crash.
If the insurance company denies the claim based on no police report being filed within 24 hours, cases in California have ruled that the insurance company must show that it was prejudiced by the delay.
Bottom line: If you’re the victim of a hit-and-run in Los Angeles or anywhere else in California, report the crash to the police within 24 hours!
And remember to maintain a healthy amount of uninsured motorist coverage!
For questions about your Los Angeles hit-and-run, the Rabbi Lawyer is ready to assist, 24/6!